Whole Living Gal



REAL Confessions

Today is a day for truthiness. So here goes:

I’m pregnant.

and

My diet has gone down the drain.

I originally started this blog as “Confessions of a Health Counselor.” You want some true confessions? These will make you feel better about any and all food decisions you have made in the last 6 years.

I am in the mess of first-trimester woahs. For me, this begins with eating everything on the planet. Two days in a row of hitting up Arby’s and then Culver’s, respectively, at 4pm should have clued me in enough to take a pregnancy test.

Then the nausea sets in. I can combat this for a few weeks by eating. So I eat everything in sight and try to make it semi-healthy.

Then the real nausea and fatigue set in. This is the stage I am trudging through right now. Sometimes smells make me gag. Sometimes certain textures make me gag. It’s all a guessing game. And I’ve gotten to the point where I just don’t want to eat at all. Of course, this doesn’t bode well for healthy weight gain during pregnancy. I noticed that I was starting to lose weight (which I did during my first pregnancy) and I knew it was TIME.

Time? you ask.

Yes, time for the Eggo waffles. Time for anything I can stomach that will feed me calories to get through these weeks.

Deep breath and jump right into the confessional section:

– I eat blueberry Eggo waffles at all moments of the day when I can’t think of anything else to eat, which is often.

– I made manwich for dinner the other night.

– The only veggies I can stomach are carrots and salad (only if it’s topped with Annie’s Goddess dressing)

– Fruit is passable – so I eat grapes and bananas along with my 9-month-old

– I drink soda. Gasp, I know. But ginger ale settles my stomach. So there.

– Cucumbers (and pickles) make me sick. So at the height of the fresh, local availability of crisp cucumbers, I can have none.

– I made my husband make rice krispy treats last night (on another note – those are HARD to make. What in the world are marshmallows MADE of?! That stuff is no joke.)

Whew. I’m glad we got that out in the open. See why I didn’t want to blog?

On a more serious note, I feel totally blessed. This growing baby inside me is a true gift from God, and I feel the weight of that gift. So all this ickiness is just a phase, and really, it’s for a great cause.

On the plus side: I am listening to my body. This is one concept I push with my clients so much – listen to your body and it will tell you what it needs. Right now, my body doesn’t need me to trudge through veggie-laden meals and slave over the stove for foods that I *think* are healthy. Right now, I just need calories, and I need rest. I am listening and I am responding – to both.

And speaking of that. My 9-month-old is down for a nap, so it’s about that time for me. I have discovered one joy of the late-summer season that I can enjoy: fresh tomatoes sliced on bread with melted cheese. I have a green tomato and an orange one just waiting for me…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Anita says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! Ironically, before reading this, I JUST left you a voice message.

    One thought ran through my mind after reading your post – have you read information on blood type and diet? I’m fairly certain you are an ‘O’ – so, it sounds ‘normal’ for your body to crave the foods you mentioned above. Especially since it’s gone into the mode of caring for B2 (baby #2).

    I love you! What a blessing – YIPPPEEEEEE!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. Sounds like you are eating like me suddenly 🙂 Go for the Eggo waffles. P.s. Grace just watched a show this week and discovered marshmallows are made out of pig skin. So there you go.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Luanne says:

    At Target there are organic flax waffles that taste just like the blueberry ones…according to my kids…I never got the chance to try them before they ate them all…as an FYI. Hope this phase passes soon…it’s the worst.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

