Whole Living Gal



Chicken Salad

Yesterday I roasted a chicken, which took far longer than I anticipated. But it was so worth it! I de-boned it (and ate my fair share in the process) and made stock out of the bones last night.

I love having cooked, roasted chicken around. It’s great for a quick sandwich, or to add to a soup, or to top a salad.

One of my favorite summertime recipes is chicken salad. I found this recipe on Whole Foods Market dot com a few summers ago and I love it. I didn’t follow the recipe today, and as I was eating, I thought, “this would be really good with green onions.” And so the recipe calls for them… I wish I had them, but I’m out right now!

One change I make to the recipe is that I don’t use yogurt. I try not to eat a lot of dairy, so I avoid that part. Instead, I thin out my mayo with lemon juice (and if you’re using a fresh lemon, by all means add the zest!) and added chopped parsley. I whisked that and added it to the salad. Also, I had leftover brown rice, so I used that instead of wild rice. Really, I see a recipe as more of a guide of suggestions…

Here it is:

Artichoke Chicken Salad

Ingredients

4 grilled, boneless skinless chicken breasts, diced
3 large green onions, chopped
3/4 cup pitted black olives, chopped
5 plain or marinated artichoke hearts, chopped
2 cups cooked wild rice
1/3 cup expeller pressed mayonnaise
1/3 cup plain low fat yogurt
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

Toss chicken with green onions, olive, artichoke hearts and wild rice. In a small bowl, combine mayonnaise and yogurt. Toss with chicken. Taste and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * James says:

    I also love it with apples and cashews.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I ate a chicken sald recipe with grapes and celery once…that was amazing too! I like the idea of thinning the mayo with fresh lemon juice. I will have to try that!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

