Whole Living Gal



Back from Vacation and Back to Farm-Fresh Foods!

We’re back from an amazing vacation. Well, just the fact that it was a vacation makes it amazing. We drove to the Southeast where there are things like Chic-Fil-A, the salt-water ocean, warm weather, and my in-laws – who were able to fawn over our 8-month-old, hold her, spoil her, and most importantly, watch her so that the hubby and I could go on two – count them TWO – dates. One of those dates ended in a shopping trip for me to H&M…I was one happy girl.

One thing I will say about my in-laws: they love food. And whenever we are together, it is all about the food. Vacations are a good time to set rules aside and eat some good ol’ comfort food, which we did (I mentioned Chic-Fil-A, didn’t I?).

We had a fish fry and fish tacos – all made from mahi-mahi my father-in-law caught. We ate tomato sandwiches from the still-warm tomatoes growing out back. We ate blueberry pancakes for breakfast and even had a southern breakfast, complete with sausage gravy and biscuits. We also ate out a few times, including one dinner sitting in a booth overlooking the ocean drinking orange crush and eating hush puppies and she-crab soup. And, I ate my weight in fresh peaches.

The food was certainly good, and it was nice to relax. But you know what I missed most, and am most excited to come home to? My farm share.

I tried incorporating greens into several meals, and when we stopped to see friends on the way home in another part of the state, they made a concerted effort to have vegetables available.

But I miss fresh-picked-that-day salad greens (and every other fresh veggie from the farm). We ate salads a number of times, but it feels like sacrilidge to eat romaine from the grocery store in the summer. That stuff tastes like plastic – I don’t blame people for not liking vegetables if that is all they are exposed to…bland, bland, bland!

My mom and I split our farm share, so even though I missed the pick-up yesterday, she has my veggies ready and waiting today. This is about the time of year when the bounty and variety really kick in – I can’t wait to see what new veggies will be peaking out from the bags my mom brings.

The weather at home is beautiful, and slightly cool – perfect for roasting cauliflower or broccoli or any other root veggie (do I dare get excited about beets yet?!). Mmm…my stomach’s growling already (which is bad news while I stare down our post-vacation bare kitchen) – will have to call my mom soon…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Mmmm…good stuff this week 🙂 I will say I am getting a little tired of the chard and kale…even though it makes me feel good every time I eat it, but the problem is I am the only one who usually eats it, at least a decent amount in one seving 🙂 It takes forever to get it out of the fridge and then I have more!! Cannot wait to eat the carrots and squash tonight for dinner though!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Jill says:

    Yum!! Beets are my favorites. So glad you are back 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

