Whole Living Gal



Fashion

If you were to follow my life throughout its entirety, you would see a theme in the clothes that I wear – mainly that fashion is a way I use to express myself. (Anyone remember the vintage pastel green-and-pink skirt-suit with gold buttons? Or the cat skirt?)

If you’ve known me in the last several years – and more specifically since I’ve had a baby – chances are you’ve seen me out and about in chacos and hemp pants and you’re probably thinking: YOU and FASHION?

Ehem.

What I love about clothes is the ability to express myself through what I wear – or set a mood, or “dress the part.” After I graduated from college, I taught High School English for a few years. Because I am petite and look mild-mannered, I used my clothes to set the tone for my classroom the first week. In fact, I would pull my hair back in a bun, don a skirt and blazer, put on some pumps and nylons – and I called it my teaching costume.

I recently stumbled on The Uniform Project. Basically, this woman is wearing one dress for 365 days, but is using her well of second-hand accessories and creative donations from other artists to make a “look” for the day. I loooove seeing her creativity every single day- and I love the fact that she is using vintage, second-hand, and hand-made items to accessorize. Plus, she wears hats a lot, which I adore.

But, the cool thing about The Uniform Project is not that this woman is just using her creativity every day to entertain. She is also simultaneously raising money for impoverished schools in India. The Web site reads:

The Uniform Project is also a year-long fundraiser for the Akanksha Foundation, a grassroots movement that is revolutionizing education in India. At the end of the year, all contributions will go toward Akanksha’s School Project to fund uniforms and other educational expenses for children living in Indian slums.
The artist came up with the idea to wear this one style of dress (for the record, she has 7 dresses that she rotates so she can launder them) because she grew up wearing uniforms to school; but even with a uniform, you could see how students expressed their individuality by the flare they added to the required duds.

I’ve been reading a lot of mom blogs these days that plug certain sites or causes because they are getting free stuff. So I would like to point out that I have no connection to this project, other than the fact that I subscribe to the feed and follow her every day (both on the blog and on twitter). And, I’ve been more inspired recently to dig into my closet to jazz up my outfits – with scarves, necklaces, mesh tights, and yes, even hats. Also, I’ve been inspired to buy vintage and shop second-hand – there are plenty of treasures to be found if you just dig a little…and what a great way to shop “green.”

Go visit the site – you may just get hooked!

Leave a Reply

