Whole Living Gal



Food and Mood

Wow, I am on a serious blogging roll this week. And I feel bad because I’m leaving for a week and a half to go on vacation. Maybe I’ll surprise ya’ll and pre-post! Gasp!

Onto today’s topic: Food and Mood.

I know that food affects my mood. After a few weeks of feeling really spacey, I will check into my diet and realize I’m eating a ton of sugar or white flour. These are my downfall – anything sweet and gooey and bready. But when I eat too much, I feel sort of, well, ditzy.

So I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that by 5pm yesterday, I was in a funkified foul mood. I had yet to eat a single vegetable, and for lunch, well…here are my confessions…

I love Arby’s roast beef sandwiches. Love them. I don’t know if it has to do with the shaved beef or the gooey bun or the sauces that I smother it in. I am a sucker for this sandwich. Granted, I don’t eat it very often – but if I am in a fast-food rush, that’s my choice of sandwich. So what is a health counselor who has a sleeping baby in the back seat of the car and is hungry supposed to do when she passes an Arby’s that is offering a free sandwich with drink purchase?

I couldn’t say no.

But I knew I should. I was feeling the ickyness of fast-food before I finished my second bite. My food day went downhill from there. For an afternoon snack (remember I’m nursing, so when I say “snack” it usually means “meal”), I made pancakes with leftover batter. Granted, they were homemade and on the healthier side. But STILL. At this point in the day, the only fresh thing I’d eaten was organic, local cherries that I keep popping from the quart in my fridge.

My food day only gets worse from there – I’ll spare you the details. But I regretted it – not just because I felt like junk food when I went to bed, but because my mood had turned to junk. It was hard to stay positive, and I was just in a foul mood. But it’s no wonder – I wasn’t feeding myself any wholesome nutrients, but rather was stuffing my face full of tasty treats that were gunking up my insides.

I’ve started today off on a better foot. I made a kale, garlic, and turkey sausage frittata this morning. I’m already feeling better – and I’ve set my day on a trajectory toward health.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    I felt like I was reading about me in there….except there would have been an ice cream treat in there at the end of the day 🙂 I have been there, more than I would like to confess! Isn’t it interesting how food does affect mood SO MUCH? I blogged about that about two monthes ago too…because I had done the same thing!!

    Great breakfast idea BTW! You share the best recipes!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Jill says:

    I feel totally responsible for your Arby’s purchases. I fully repent of leading you into food sin 😉

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

