Whole Living Gal



Announcing Summer Giveaways

IIN Healthy Shopping DVD

I made the Medditerranean Chicken with Turnips last night, and it was deee-licious! The kalamata olives really made it for me. Also, I served it over brown rice (which I cooked in the leftover chicken stock to give it more flavor) instead of couscous. So yummy. We have leftovers, and I can’t wait for lunch. I may even eat it for my second breakfast.

Now, for those of you who thought my big announcement is that I’m pregnant, I’m sorry to disappoint, but that’s not it. I promise I am not. In fact, since I’m taking drugs to help me feel better, I have taken two pregnancy tests recently just to be sure I was not inadvertantly feeding codeine to a new baby H.

The big news is that I am launching summer giveaways here at Whole Living Gal. If you have ever thought about moving toward a healthier lifestyle, but just need some tools to get you there, now is the time to jump on board. And who doesn’t like free stuff?

I’m so excited because the school where I studied Holistic Health Counseling – the Institute for Integrative Nutrition in NYC – has sent me a 25-lb. box of goodies that I’ve decided to give away to my oh-so-lovely readers here at Whole Living Gal. I loved IIN when I attended, but I just keep on loving that school because they take care of their graduates. I mean, what school sends alumni a 25-lb. box of goodies for FREE?!

I would be remiss if I did not mention IIN’s new Distance Learning Program. When I attended, I flew to NYC once or twice a month for about 10 months in order to get my certification(I know, rough life, right?). But a few months ago, they launched an awesome program that allows you to study the same great information from the same great teachers from the comfort of your home. In fact, this program is so great, that the school is only hosting one more session of live classes (starting in January). If you’ve ever thought about the live classes, now is the time to attend. But if you’d like to jump on board the distance learning track, now is the time, because they are offering it at a discounted price. Either way, if you call to sign up, mention me, Heather Hammond, because you will receive a discount!

::

Onto the giveaway!

Have you ever walked into a health-food store only to get hives, panic attacks and a severe case of being overwhelmed? I mean, there’s the regular stuff like produce and organic milk, but then there’s seaweed and millet and flax – where in the world do you start and what in the world do people do with kombunchu?

IIN created a DVD that walks you through a health-food store and clarifies products and how to manage your way through the aisles. The inside of the DVD cover reads:

Integrative Nutrition Healthy Shopping will familiarize you with the wide array of products and produce found in health food stores. From seaweeds to cooking oils, from herbs to soy products, this DVD demystifies it all.
When I first started eating well, this DVD helped me sort through all the products. I often shop at a regular grocery store, not a health-food store, but most regular stores are now carrying more specialty items – so no matter where you shop, this DVD will be so helpful!

I’m giving away a copy of the DVD to one lucky reader!

Want to win it?

Visit the Integrative Nutrition Web site and come back here, leave a comment and tell me one of the guest speakers in the program.

Want to up your chances to win? You can earn an extra entry/comment, by doing one of the following (then come back and leave a comment to tell me about it):

*Tweet about this contest (follow me @wholelivinggal) – each tweet is an entry!
*Write about it on Facebook
*Write a post about this contest and link back here

Contest ends soon – Friday night at midnight (cause I’m headed out of town this weekend!) – so you better get to steppin’!

Good luck! Remember to come back later for other summer giveaways.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Preparing for Vacation « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 7 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * allison says:

    omg.
    all i saw was the word pregnant and went into shock.

    whew.
    ok.
    start over.
    must read post in it’s entirety….

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Judy Bomar says:

    Deepak Chopra is one guest speaker.

    I posted your website to my fb.

    Recie & I recently joined the Y and started their Bi
    ometrics weightloss program. We exercise 3x’s week, as well. It has made such a difference. In 3 weeks he has lost 16 lbs and I have lost 10.

    I want to learn more about eating healthily.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Jennifer says:

    summer giveaway!! yay!!

    Deepak Chopra! the speaker that I would like to hear. I’ve looked into the program before. It’s a future possibility. No time and money at this moment, but that DVD sounds wonderful.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  4. Hi Heather,

    Very informational and interesting Blog! Definitely a worthwhile read–caught myself smiling several times–thanks for sharing.

    Oh, and I’d like to enter your contest. One of the speakers: Julia Cameron –love her book, “The Artist’s Way.”

    blessings!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Luanne says:

    Well, if you are checking pregnancy tests, than does that mean you are open to the possibility??? Yeah!! Loved your post…and I would enter, but I think I am exempt 🙂 Did you watch the DVD? It is very entertaining! David watched it with me and still walks around quoting things from it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  6. * deborah says:

    Deepak Chopra is a guest speaker. Funny that that name not only me from the list. Anyways, I have been wanting to go to Integrative Nutrition ever since I heard about it back in 2004 or something, but unfortunately life circumstances take over and you can’t always do what you want. Hopefully someday I can afford the program. Either way the giveaway sounds extremely interesting and like something easy to not only gain for myself but to be able to pass on as well.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  7. * jean says:

    One guest speaker is Geneen Roth (who would be very interesting to listen to about emotions and eating).

    What a great give-away. Thanks Heather!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  8. * heatherehammond says:

    Judy Bomar #2

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  9. * heatherehammond says:

    Jean #2 (tweet)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  10. * cindy says:

    julia cameron and for extra credit its on my fb page. :o)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  11. * Lorna Dobson says:

    Well, I missed it totally, but enjoyed reading the comments. I would have felt as if i were cheating to try to win the DVD.

    How old do you think the oldest graduate of IIN has been (at the time of graduation)? I might try to beat it some day!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  12. Hello! Andrew Weil is one of the guest speakers. Cool site. I’m curly but started to lose some of it and wonder if it has something to do with my nutrition. Thanks for the contest!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  13. Whoops – just realized the contest is over. Oh well, maybe next time.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  14. * Dalia Ahn says:

    This an Fantastic blog post, I will be sure to save this in my Diigo account. Have a awesome evening.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

