Whole Living Gal



Carrot Spread Recipe

I stumbled across this recipe as I was planning for some classes I am teaching this summer. The book is called Get the Sugar Out, and it is filled with over 500 ideas and recipes to get the sugar out of your diet.

This particular recipe comes from the section about breakfast and alternatives to jams and spreads, which are usually filled with sugar. This recipe is actually called “Carrot Butter” – but I don’t think the word “butter” fits it in any way.

Frankly, it’s just delicious. It’s great to spread on bread or as a sandwich (alternative to pb&j), or dip crackers in it for a snack. I loooove it; and if you have kids, I think they’ll love it, too. The best part is that it has very little ingredients and is super easy to make. I love how fluffy and smooth it gets once it’s blended.

Can’t wait for you to try this recipe!

Carrot Butter

1 Cup cooked carrots
2 Tbs. nut butter (any kind – I used organic, natural peanut butter)
1 tsp. honey
1/4 tsp. salt (omit if nut butter is salted)

Puree one cup of cooked carrots in food processor (or a blender or use a masher). Add remaining ingredients and beat until smooth.

*Frankly, I just threw all the ingredients into the food processor and called it good. Don’t forget to cook the carrots first!

Enjoy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * jean says:

    just may have to try this one! I found a jam/jelly recipe using honey instead of sugar and mmmmm!!! it’s tasty!! 🙂 thanks for sharing heather!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I have seen this recipe before in my book as well, but forgot all about it! I am going to try it with almond butter…

    Where are you teaching classes this summer? Sounds fun and a chance to get out and talk to adults 🙂 Good luck with it!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

