Whole Living Gal



And Sometimes You Just Get Sick

I do everything I can to stay healthy – I eat well, exercise, try to get a lot of rest, and I drink a ton of water. But sometimes, I just get sick.

I’m sick right now. Cough-from-the-chest-sore-throat-for-days kind of sick.

It’s when I get sick that I am oh-so-thankful for the medical professionals in the world. After waking up feeling like I was hacking up a lung (you know that kind of cough where you just keep going until you gag?), and realizing that my life was not going to stop with an infant, I decided to get help. The last time I had a cold was before I was pregnant (so that’s at least a year and a half ago), and I don’t remember the last time I went to the doctor. I couldn’t even remember WHO my doctor was when I called to make an appointment. It actually turns out my doctor doesn’t work there anymore, so I was assigned to someone new; the new guy was most helpful, encouraging, and even had a great sense of humor.

Turns out, it’s a sudafed issue.

(*Side note: did you know you had to get that from BEHIND the counter at the drug store? Apparently the kids have been using to make meth… They took my driver’s license number and everything!)

I’m thankful there’s nothing major going on – and sometimes you just need a professional to tell you that. Or, at least I do.

So I’m continuing to down my water, take some over-the-counter (and behind-the-counter) meds, and wait it out.

*Ehem* … and maybe it’s time for a hot toddy…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Colds are the worst! I never got sick before I had kids, then all of the sudden I got what they did…but now, I rarely get sick anymore. I suppose I needded to get used to their kind of germs and build up a resistance! That especially is helpful when they all have the flu πŸ™‚

    Get as much rest as you can, my friend! Let me know if you need anything. And yes, isn’t that sudafed thing crazy?? They actually made that change a little over a year ago…probably right after your last cold πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * anne says:

    Mmmm…toddy’s. πŸ™‚ Feel better.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

