Whole Living Gal



Greens, Glorious Greens

My CSA farm share is in full swing. What does that mean in early summer? GREENS!

There is nothing like the buttery taste of fresh-cut lettuce. Besides lettuce, we are getting stocked up on swiss chard, kale, bok choy. Mmmm, mmmm. I never knew I could love and actually crave these kinds of foods until I ate them fresh off the farm. Now I am tempted to snack out of the bags on the way home from our pick-up.

My green smoothie challenge has been, well, adapted. I haven’t had a smoothie all week, but I have been substituting it in other ways to get my greens in daily. Here’s what I’ve done:

*I wrapped leftover chicken in collard greens for lunch.

*Cooked potatoes and kale in chicken broth with a little lemon juice and served it alongside a salad.

*Sauteed swiss chard and tomatoes and served it with salmon cakes

*Sauteed bok choy with red pepper and a creamy sesame sauce I made

The point is, I’m getting at least one big helping of greens each day – whether it be in a smoothie, or alongside something at dinner. It feels and tastes good!

How are you getting your greens today?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    We are doing the green smoothies here…and the kids are in on it…I have named then “ogre smoothies” or “Schrek smoothies”…that seemed to work and they are drinking them 🙂 Love your green ideas…I will terying a few!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

