Whole Living Gal



Going Green: Day 3

When I said I would be part of the Green Smoothie Challenge in June, I had little confidence in my ability to carry it out. But, for the last two days, the hubby and I have had a green smoothie in the afternoon – and we’re well on the way to making it a habit!

I picked the time of day when I am the most snacky and likely to grab something unhealthy – for me that is late afternoon. This is always a tough time of day for me, but especially since I’m nursing and need about 20 meals a day (okay, that’s an exaggeration, but it FEELS like I eat 20 meals per day) – I am looking for creative things to eat and fill my hungry body.

The smoothie has been a great addition to my afternoon. The first day, I used swiss chard, and it was so mild, I couldn’t even taste the green. The second day, I added a piece of kale to the swiss chard (and a lone piece of lettuce I found at the bottom of the farm produce – must have missed the salad last week). This smoothie was a lot stronger, but it wasn’t bad. I definitely knew I was eating greens, but honestly, it tasted good – like the way I think health should taste.

I’m running low on greens, and my farm share pick-up isn’t until Tuesday – I think I’ll have to make a stop at the store today.

The best news? Strawberries are in season here in Michigan! Even though it hasn’t hit 80-degrees, and today it is rainy and cold, and feels nowhere near summer, strawberries give me the TASTE of summer. Not to mention, they’ll be a great addition to my green smoothies.

Are you in on the green smoothie challenge? It’s not too late to join!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    You’ve inspired me…I just sent my husband out to the garden for a few leaves of our swiss chard to add to my morning smoothie. Never thought to add it in before, but I’ve got a lot growing.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I’m doing one with swiss chard today too:)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Anita says:

    No, but I enjoy reading how you and David are having fun with it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Lorna Dobson says:

    I don’t know – maybe, but i won’t stay committed while i’m in Ireland. the only thing there green is the grass and maybe some mold, and i don’t want to graze or drive the fam crazy looking for greens. I love salads mid-day, so…ok, I’ll do it until June 28.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  5. * jen boda says:

    I add kale to my smoothies all the time! Sometimes seaweed as well for the thyroid. So vicariously excited for your strawberries being in season. Yum.

    jen
    Boda Weight Loss Blog

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

