Whole Living Gal



June Green Smoothie Challenge

I made a fast run to the health-food store last night to pick up some soy milk for my dinner recipe (lemon asparagus pasta – yum!). I walked out of there having spent around $40 in less than 5 minutes – but that’s another post…

What caught my eye was a sign on the door to take the June “Green Smoothie Challenge.” The store is encouraging it’s customers to drink a green smoothie every day during the month of June.

What’s in a green smoothie? Well, GREENS! Whatever you have on hand: kale, swiss chard, collards, whatever! Add that to a blender with water, fruit and agave nectar; blend; enjoy.

Greens are one of the biggest missing ingredients in the Standard American Diet, and most Americans can use more greens in their diets. They are jam-packed with nutrients and act as a cleaning agent after a winter diet full of fats and dairy and sleeping and parties. But they’re bitter, and the American pallet isn’t accustomed to this flavor; we’re used to seeing kale as a garnish on salad bars, not as an actual ingredient to ingest.

That’s why I love this smoothie challenge. It’s a great way to introduce greens into a diet otherwise unaccustomed to the flavor. And you can start small – mostly fruit – and start adding more greens as your pallet grows more accustomed to the taste.

I realize it’s part-way through June already, but I’m jumping on board this challenge. I love the idea of adding a good ingredient into my diet. Even if I change nothing else in my diet, I know the added nutrients in this smoothie will make a difference in my overall health.

Are you in?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    I’m so in. Have you had yours yet today??

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Alison says:

    Hi Heather!

    I read about green smoothies a couple months ago and was making them for a while to take to work with me. I was primarily eating them for breakfast, but I like your idea of making one when I’m most likely to snack- for me it’s in the afternoon, too. I only used spinach and added it to my usual smoothie of soy milk, fruit, and tofu. I’ll have to experiment with other greens, too!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

