Whole Living Gal



Missing Ingredient: My Hubby

I’ve said it so many times to so many people: we are nourished by other things besides our food. In fact, there are things that are primary to our health – relationships, career, spirituality, exercise, rest – that if these things aren’t in balance, it doesn’t matter how much broccoli I eat, I won’t be healthy.

So I guess it should come as no surprise to me that since my hubby has been gone for 11 days – and I have a few more to go – the rest of my health has seen a slow decline.

Granted, I am also sleep deprived because my 7-month-old has gone a sleeping strike and decided to have a growth spurt all at one time…this has made for long nights.

But without the support of the primary relationship in my life, I find I am having trouble holding it all together. I stepped on the scale the other day, and I was more than a little concerned about how much weight I’ve lost recently. I’m trying to eat, but I just can’t seem to keep up with my nursing baby and the stress of having my hubby gone. And I am fighting this head cold and a headache that keeps showing up at all hours of the day and night. Oh – and my back…it’s killing me.

No, this is not a cry for help, though I wouldn’t say no to a little sympathy (and honey, if you’re reading this all the way over in Turkey, come home soon!). It is rather a realization on my part about the importance of caring for those primary foods in my life – my relationships, career, spirituality, exercise, rest. When these are out of balance, there’s no hope for health, but when they are cared for and nourished and balanced, ah, life is good.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anne says:

    Well, feel free to come on over to play at the park or our yard! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be sure to make you eat well.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    Hang in there Heather!! I KNOW how hard this is ๐Ÿ™‚ And you are right….self care is so important!! If I can help in some way let me know…and when Z sleeps…you sleep too! That’s how I always survived. You don’t get as much done, but without our other halves…it’s not all getting done anyways, so you may as well be rested!! Take care of yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  3. * allison says:

    it’s so hard. SO HARD!!! i COMPLETELY understand. after 2 weeks of being a single parent and ALSO being tortured by a sleepless child, i as well became VERY sick. i’m still on antibiotics…2 rounds! my body just collapsed. i have an entirely NEW and profound sympathy for single parents. you have to force yourself to eat, even when you can’t keep your eyes open. i hit up our health food store for some serious suppliments and have tried to work off my sleep debt, but man. im so sorry for this and hope you find a way to restore your strength…

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  4. * jen rogenbaum says:

    This, too, shall pass:)

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

