Whole Living Gal



Follow-Through

Ah, my poor, neglected blog. I guess I’m having trouble with follow-through these days. It’s probably because I am acting as a single mom for two weeks while my hubby is out of the country for work. Or the fact that I am finishing my musical with full force.

I have enough follow-through in the rest of my life, so other things fall by the wayside – this blog included.

I have been fed recently by my “primary foods”: things other than food that nourish me. Right now, it’s creativity and relationships (though my biggest relationship is suffering a major hole as my hubby and I communicate briefly over skype these days).

For the first time in over a year, I had to remind myself to eat this weekend. My friends from college were in town and we worked all weekend on the musical I am writing for them. They had to remind me to eat (granted, I made up for it a few hours later by inhaling four fajitas before taking a breath…er…rather…searching for another tortilla and realizing I had eaten all of mine – I am nursing, people).

But I was being fed by my creative side – and I was in the zone. We worked on set design, blocking, music, and had a read-thru this past weekend. That’s a jam-packed weekend of working. And these things nourished me.

This is not to say that creativity and relationships are a replacement for food. But they are primary to our health – and when they are in order, then we can focus on the food. And in the same respect, when our primary foods (relationships, career, spirituality, exercise, rest) are out of balance, it doesn’t matter how much broccoli I eat, I won’t be healthy.

I have been nurturing my primary foods recently, and it feels good. And my secondary foods (the food, food) are falling in line as well.

Well, that’s a bit of an understatement. I have been craving fresh foods. But there are also times these days while my hubby is away when I eat dry cereal and barbeque potato chips for lunch, when I pound a coconut pound cake after my 6-month-old finally falls asleep for the night, and various other ways I replace the sadness of my hubby being gone and the stress of being a single parent of sorts with food and more food.

Overall, I am nourished. Maybe this is my follow-through. Finishing what I started over a year ago – working on the musical…focusing on my daughter so I can be mom and dad and all things in-between. And in the meantime, I get some glimpses of balance when I realize that I’m so excited about the new ending for Act I that I have to remind myself that it’s dinnertime.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    It’s hard when they are gone…especially long trips out of the country. I’ve been there too 🙂 Hang in there and don’t eat too much coconut cake…the nursing excuse only goes so far I found!! AND, congratulations on your musical. I am so happy it is going well and you are enjoying it and it is feeding you too!! Awesome!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

