Whole Living Gal



Movement

It’s been six months since my daughter was born – and subsequently the most grueling days of physical exersion ever. But only recently have I felt like myself physically. Because my labor marathon ended in surgery, I have been very careful to listen to my body and not jump back into exercise full force until I knew I was ready.

Instead of thinking about exercise, I started to think about movement. What ways can I move that get my body going and help in the healing? When I was ready, I started doing some stretches and went for walks at my own pace.

Now that I am on the mend, I have started picking up the pace a bit. This week I started to run/walk. There are a few times in my life that I have introduced running, and I always feel great when my body is in shape to run. But other times, I push myself too hard, too fast, and then I swear off running forever. So this time around, I am taking it very slowly and easing myself into the running.

In fact, I am planning to find a 5k race to run at the end of the summer. I figure building up to three miles in three months is a good, slow pace – and probably the kind of running plan I can stick with for a while.

It also helps that the weather is gorgeous. Us Michiganders spend the majority of the spring/summer/early fall months outside since we are stuck inside all winter. And what better way to spend time outside than doing a little physical activity and movement.

What movement are you doing for your body these days?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * lcgerrity says:

    Sweet! Good luck with that! The only movement I have been doing lately is torturing my body by cleaning a house that has 10 ft ceilings and is covered top to bottom in cat hair…and you know me and cat hair. Needless to say I haven’t been feeling so great! Almost done though!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Carrie Meconis says:

    Pre-natal yoga!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Anita says:

    I like your style. The Tracy Anderson Method has been my recent fix. The music, dancing…takes me right back to the feeling of youth while getting in shape.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

