Whole Living Gal



The Learning Curve in Cooking

I have had some adventures in baby-food making recently.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to turn this blog into a mom-blog, but now that my daughter is eating solids, I am entering new territory in the kitchen.

Contrary to popular opinion, pureeing food is hard! In order to make oatmeal, I had to grind the oats, cook them, then puree them again (after trying unsuccessfully to feed them to her in a lumpy state). My food processor is getting a workout these days.

Then there were the peas. This I thought would be easy. I already had a bag of frozen, organic peas, so how hard could they be?

I put them in a pot with some water and set them to cooking. I came back later, and my peas were burned! I burned frozen peas – now that takes skill.

The point is, I’m trying new things in the kitchen, and I’m not getting them right the first time. There is definitely a learning curve.

I think because we eat several times a day, many people think cooking should come easily. But it doesn’t – it takes work and practice. No matter what you are cooking, whenever you try something new – like cooking grains or trying a new vegetable – there will inevitably be a learning curve…and possibly some burned peas (or rice) along the way.

Don’t give up! You’ll figure out how to cook those beans or puree to perfection – practice makes perfect.

Whenever I am trying a new food or cooking a new recipe that I’m unsure of, I always say to myself, “We can always order take-out if this doesn’t work” (or in the case of baby food, I remind myself that the store shelves are stocked full of jars of baby food in case this doesn’t work). And I have had to take myself up on that offer a couple of times.

But the next day, I am back in the kitchen trying it all again. After years of practice, it’s paying off – most of the time, I would rather eat at home than go out because I know what comes out of my kitchen will taste better.

Are you frustrated by recent disasters in the kitchen? Go back in there and give it a try. After all, you can always order take-out if you burn the peas.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Burnt frozen peas…I love it! I think it’s awesome you are trying to make her food…such a good mom! And you are right…you can always run to the store if it doesn’t turn out!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

