Whole Living Gal



Prayer Rhythms

Our small group is doing an experiment where we all commit to praying twice a day – at 8 and 8.

I was the one who suggested it, but I have found it difficult to remember to pray at these given times. I’m usually somewhere in my daughter’s waking-up routine in the morning and somewhere in the middle of her going-to-bed routine in the evening time.

But I like the challenge, and I like having made the commitment to pray. Even if I don’t hit the exact times, I usually remember at some point in the morning or the evening, at which time I pause to pray.

Occasionally, I am in the middle of washing almost-stained baby clothes in the sink, and so I pause in my thoughts to direct them to God – and I often resort to a prewritten prayer (like the Jesus Prayer: “Lord Jesus Christ, son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”). Sometimes I am in the middle of singing my daughter to sleep, in which case, I turn my song into a prayer. “Jesus, all for Jesus, all I am and have, and ever hope to be.”

A few times in the last few weeks since we started this experiment, I have been able to pause and take some real time to pray. And in these moments, I have spent time in petition for the other members of our small group. Pausing in the beginning or end of my day to pray for other people helps me not only take the focus off myself and place it on someone else, but also helps me focus more clearly on God and the bigger story in which I take part.

Paul encourages us to “pray without ceasing.” Certainly, setting two times a day to pray is nowhere near the category “without ceasing,” but it’s a start.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * joy says:

    LOVE IT! having a goal is Life. I’d like to pray with you too.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    Such a good reminder and challenge…I need to start putting prayer back into my life more regularly…I am lacking in that area and I know it would bring clarity to many things going on in my life if I would draw God in and let Him participate, instead of me dragging Him along for the ride!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * allison says:

    i reeeaaallly like this!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. rock on! i love it!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Sarah Schraw says:

    Joel and I committed to praying together every night until we receive a clear answer on our decision whether or not to buy a house this year. It has been so great. And I am amazed by how much has happened in just the week and a half since we started praying together. I have been praying on my own about this issue for MONTHS but now that “2 or more are gathered” I swear there is something different happening.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Lorna Dobson says:

    Beautiful…it’s a life long journey.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Pat says:

    Keeping an attitude of prayer is tough when the voices of everyday stuff are so loud they sometimes drown out my intentions. Corrie ten Boom said, “If a care is too small to be turned into a prayer, It is too small to be made into a burden.”

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

