Whole Living Gal



The Power of Making a Healthy Choice

Next week my daughter turns 6-months old, and I am finally starting to feel like I have my body back. Yesterday was the best day- in terms of my health – that I have had in a very long time (as in over-a-year long time).

What made it so great?

A hearty breakfast with my hubby, a walk on a warm cloudy day (and hauling butt trying to beat the rain), a healthy lunch, and a superb dinner (marinated, grilled salmon, hulled barley tossed in a homemade vinaigrette, turnip greens), and tea and dark chocolate for dessert. Also, instead of watching tv, I spent time in prayer and gave my creativity a workout by writing and brainstorming ideas that have been brewing for a while. Yesterday was one good decision after another.

But want to know what I’m most proud of? My afternoon snack.

I have been beyond tired in the afternoons for the past week and a half, and about a week ago, I started brewing another cup of coffee in the afternoon to get me through. I think this seemed to have the opposite effect, though, because each day, I got progressively more tired.

So yesterday, instead of brewing more coffee, I took a short nap then made myself  a fresh fruit smoothie (with a little chia seeds mixed in for added energy). I listened to my body and gave it what it needed – rest and some nutrients – instead of jolting it with caffeine. Was I still tired? A little. Did I feel fabulous about myself and my decision? Yes.

I make choices in life. And of all the choices I make during the day, my food and health choices are the most powerful. Each time I choose to put something in my mouth, I am also making a decision about my energy level and my future health  – cause let’s face it, one cup of coffee won’t hurt me, but one cup every afternoon for 3 years can really do some damage.

Now, I realize that every day won’t be like yesterday, but I hope to have more like those than not. I feel powerful today because I made good choices for my body and my health – and because I feel good today, I am more likely to follow with more good decisions.

You have the power to make a good choice about your health today. What will you do with that power?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * steph says:

    Great Post Heather! I whole heartedly agree…

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  2. * joy says:

    love this Heather! I have been thinking a lot about what we feed ourselves in a much broader sense. When we feed our bodies good food it is so much easier to feed our mind nourishment too. favorite line “You have the power to make a good choice about your health today. What will you do with that power?” i’ll be in touch soon.. love ya!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Luanne says:

    I love that last sentance!! I am going to write that and hang it on my mirror 🙂 And 6mos old???? WHERE does the time go???

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  4. I enjoyed reading it, I hope a friend of mine will find it useful as of his stress at work, stress at home, no vacations he barely has power to talk, allways feeling tired and powerless.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  5. hehe. tim and i are on a major afternoon smoothie kick right now, too. we’re hoping to do it all summer long as a regular habit. it DOES feel great. we’ve been putting in carrots and ginger and purple cabbage in addition to the more “normal” fruits, and kefir and odwalla protein blend juice. and sometimes flax or shredded coconut. YUM.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

