Whole Living Gal



Monday’s Menu: Asparagus

Welcome to “Monday’s Menu”! Each week, I am posting a feature food or recipe along with tips about how to get more bang for your buck and stretch out your food purchases – cause who doesn’t need a little help in these tough economic times? Plus, I think there’s a general myth that healthy food is expensive…I’d like to de-bunk that myth.

It’s officially spring, and what food says spring more than asparagus? I live in Michigan, so I am especially fond of this food – it’s one of our biggest crops here, so buy more asparagus and help support Michigan’s terrible economy!

But I digress…

As soon as I see big displays of asparagus at the store, I know it’s spring. And I like my asparagus a number of different ways. What can you do with asparagus?

1. Roast it: put it in a baking dish with a little olive oil and salt and pepper and roast in a 375-degree oven for 25 minutes.

2. Grill it: This is my favorite way to prepare it! Again, coat it with a little olive oil and salt and pepper and throw it on the grill for about 10 minutes (you will want to use a veggie grilling rack or some tin foil so you don’t lose it to the coals).

3. Add it: This veggie is a great addition to pasta dishes, salads, and to eat raw with dip (hummus, anyone?). Get creative!

“Stretch it Out”

Make the most of your one bunch of asparagus by dividing it over two meals. Chop up a few stalks and sautee it with garlic, olive oil, and cherry tomatoes; toss that mixture with whole wheat pasta and shazam – an easy meal (and if dairy suits your stomach, sprinkle a little parmesean before serving). Roast or grill the remaining bunch and serve as a side dish later in the week.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * David says:

    I can vouch for this. I used to hate asparagus and now it’s one of my favorites. Plus, nothing beats fresh, local asparagus in the spring.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I love asparagus too! I added it to a pasta dish last week. I’ve never grilled it though. I will try that, it sounds delicious!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * anne says:

    I have been putting it in EVERYTHING lately. To the point that Andy hates it. Sigh. I tell him he has to eat it anyway.

    One of my recent favs is an egg & toast (with the little hole in the toast for the egg) with feta and chunks of asparagus. So yummy.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Jenna says:

    I ❤ asparagus. Where did you get yours? What I’ve seen thus far has been pretty wimpy, wilty, and just not plump and lush.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Sarah Schraw says:

    Mmm! Good ideas. Here’s one more: I like to blanch it first for veggie trays. Just drop the asparagus in boiling water for 60 seconds or so (longer for very thick stalks, shorter for thin ones) and then plunge directly into a bowl of ice water. It keeps its beautiful green color but loses the… rawness.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

