Whole Living Gal



A Free Day

About two weeks ago, just as the weather was getting nice, I started to wean myself off coffee. It is my biggest comfort food, and I love to have a warm drink to get me through the cold mornings of winter.

But now that the weather is starting to warm up and I am beginning to crave fresh foods again, I decided to work my way out of my coffee fix. So I started by drinking more water during the times I craved coffee, and I began adding decaf slowly into my morning brew.

Within a few days, I was weaned entirely, and one Friday, I went the entire day without any sort of caffeine – and it dawned on me that it was the first day in 5 months that I had been caffeine free.

I didn’t drink much caffeine when I was pregnant because it messed up my stomach, so I couldn’t wait for the first cup of coffee the morning after Z was born. Take the fact that coffee is my comfort food compounded with the tiredness of a newborn and recovering from major surgery in the middle of Michigan winter, and I had a recipe for addiction.

I started drinking coffee regularly – one, two cups a day, depending on my mood or my level of fatigue. From November 4 on, coffee was a regular part of my day.

I was okay with this for a while – if that was all that was keeping me sane on some days, then bring on the pot of coffee. But as I started to find more balance in my life – getting the hang of taking care of a baby, Zora sleeping more, hormones subsiding from the pregnancy, and warmer weather – I decided it was time to put away this crutch.

So I did it. I weaned myself, and my first caffeine-free day, I realized it had been 5 months almost to the day since I started drinking coffee regularly.

Now, I have to admit, with the weather and my mood fluctuations, I haven’t managed to continue to avoid coffee every day, but I definitely have a different pace to my walk to the pot in the morning.

What struck me most about all this is that I knew exactly how long it had been since my body was free of caffeine – 5 months. This seems like a long time to have caffeine every single day, but then I think about the amounts of caffeine I used to put in my body for years at a time without a break, and 5 months seems pretty mild.

This is the beauty of fasting, dieting, and a little introspection from time to time – it allows your body to rest from regular patterns, some of them damaging.

How long has it been since you’ve had a caffeine-free day? Or a sugar-free day?

Is it time to do a little spring cleaning?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Carrie Meconis says:

    Nice work! It has now been almost exactly 6 months since I have been coffee free. (I won’t say caffeine completely since I enjoy a piece of chocolate every now and again!)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    ummm…busted…spring cleaning needs to happen over here and NOW!! Sugar has come back with a fierce vengeance and I am trying to wean myslef. Maybe I need to try a slower approach. Cold turkey only makes it worse the day (or hour) ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job, by the way ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Darci says:

    You’re an inspiration.
    So…about those iced grande half-caf soy caramel macchiatos with no whip…yeah.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Amy Warden says:

    I just stopped by to say thank you for entering the Great Cakes Soapworks giveaway at Fiddledeedee! Best wishes to you – for the giveaway and for kicking the caffeine habit! Ever since I got pregnant the first time, I really haven’t been able to tolerate a lot of caffeine – keeps me up at night. Now, I’m not entirely caffeine free, because I have to have my chocolate fix…. ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Lyndsay says:

    what exactly do you mean by sugar-free? :]

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

