Whole Living Gal



Exercise Fizzle

Well, it’s been a few weeks since I implemented round #2 in my winter pursuit of exercise during pregnancy – mainly, dropping our gym membership and hitting the treadmill at home and doing a prenatal yoga DVD.

To tell the truth, the exercise is starting to fizzle out a bit. I’m sure it’s a combination of a number of things:

- It’s easier to make exercise a priority when I’m going to the gym, dropping the kids off, and getting some time to myself. It’s harder when I have to entertain toddlers simultaneously while hiking it on the treadmill or becoming a jungle gym during a yoga session.

- We’ve all been sick. This has been the craziest un-Michigan winter of all time – very little snow and crazy changes in temps from day to day. It seems like everyone has been sick – and we’re never able to get fully well. I don’t like to push myself too hard physically when I’m sick, saving my energy to fight off the illness.

- Much to my dismay, I can’t keep up the running. I feel great while I’m running, but the last two runs have sent me, hours later, to bed with a heating pad somewhere. I had to come to terms with the fact that even though I’m only about 20ish weeks along, my belly is making some serious horizontal progress (even strangers are surprised that I’m not due until June) and it’s causing strain on my muscles that just can’t take the hard pounding of running. With running out of the picture again, I lost a little of my motivation. Although, I have learned the benefit of simply putting my treadmill at an incline and kicking up the speed – I’m achieving some serious and embarrassing-looking speed-walking in my basement!

- Though the nausea of the first trimester has disappeared, I’m facing my own set of second-trimester whoas, including dizziness, headaches and migraine syndrome. I’m not complaining (well, kind of), just facing the facts and understanding my body’s limitations.

Overall, I’m able to get about 3 good sessions on the treadmill a week and sometimes I can sneak in a yoga session, too. My time exercising, overall, is greatly reduced (my treadmill sessions are 20-30 minutes instead of 40-50 minutes). I’m trying to be realistic about my schedule, my health, and my life with two toddlers. I’m doing the best I can for now, and trying to remember that life comes in waves, in seasons, in stages. This is a season…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Pat McCain says:

    no need to push urself; I see u sitting in lotus position, opening your heart. In the still place, u can actually go thru ur workout mentally. as u do this, ur heart rate will increase. Olympic people did this while having their vitals monitored & they got the same benefits as if they were physically performing. ;-)

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 9 months ago
  2. Exercising is such a challenge with little ones. I haven’t had regular exercise since my 5 yo was 1, and I went back to work full time. At least during the summer, we manage to get out most evenings, but even then it’s hard.

    It sounds like you’re doing the right thing and listening to your body. Three sessions on the treadmill sounds ambitious to me!

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

