Whole Living Gal



Priority: Rest

Alright, I’ll go ahead and say it: there are not enough hours in a day.

I don’t always feel this way, but this week, it’s droning along in my head and heart.

There is so much I want to do – and it’s good stuff, too. I want to write more, I want solitude, I want to do more thrifting and sew my own pillows and refinish some furniture.

But I have two toddlers and I’m pregnant. So sometimes, instead of writing a brilliant essay that I just know publishers would clamor over, I am sitting on the floor coloring with my girls or emptying the dishwasher again or turning over another load of laundry.

Or sometimes, I’m just sleeping.

For me, right now, nap time is about naps. Most of the time, I can’t sleep – my mind runs a million miles an hour and I usually think about food: what’s for dinner, what food I can plant this spring, next week’s meal plan and what’s for the next snack…you get the idea – food! (I mentioned I’m pregnant, right?)

Even if I don’t sleep, I make myself lie down and treasure nap time for resting. In the same respect,  evenings are for sleeping. These days, I’m going to bed between 8:00 and 9:00pm. Starting about 5:00pm, I start counting the minutes until I can go to bed again.

The real truth is that there is enough time in the day, but my priority right now is rest and sleep. I know these are vital to health, but it’s hard to put them on my to-do list and check them off – I never feel accomplished after I take a nap.

But rest should find its way onto my to-do list, and maybe yours, too. There are seasons for everything and right now, my season is one of rest. I still have my daily to-do lists and laundry and essay ideas and attempts at quiet time with God, but for now, I’m embracing rest.

What a great season for it! I think the high today is somewhere in the teens – there’s no better time to hibernate than winter in Michigan.

I’m embracing my new priority: rest.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Winter Pregnancy Exercise Round #2 (…the cheap version) « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 2 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. Good for you, Heather! That’s not an easy discipline but it’s one God wants us to cultivate, I believe. —Rest. Being still. Taking the rest time to pray about what He wants us to be involved in instead of constantly pushing forward on our own.—
    And I’ve found (rest as a priority is the name of my game ;) it can provide wonderful moments of solitude as well. You are doing the right thing by listening to your body.

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 9 months ago
    • Thanks for the encouragement, Kristen! It’s not easy to slow down, but God is building my faith that even when I am not producing, he is still working…

      | Reply Posted 2 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

